Reflection

Gibbs – Reflection. 16/10/12

Setting: Reception

ACTIVITY

Teddy Bear Letter writing activity to Chester Bear – Children who write well can take Chester home and Mum writes in Teddy book what they did together.

I am sat at the table with two best friends were writing at the table – one very developed in writing, the other not so – however from further observation and looking into the EYFS Developmental matters she is on par with the standard associated with her age.

First child, let’s call her A, said her mum helps her write a lot at home.

Another child (B) who usually plays by herself came and joined the two girls and another child (C) also came over and was very vocal telling the rest of them that she did not know how to write or what letters were.

FEELINGS

Sometimes I felt frustrated with C as she kept saying she could not do the letter and just wanted me to do the work for her – it reminded me of when I say that I can’t do things for example : at the gym!

Made me have a new found appreciation for primary school teachers and those in the early years and made me realise how patient you have to be.

EVALUATION

I think the activity went well, the children, in majority, felt confident and were talkative. They became more comfortable with me there also which helped my practice.

ANALYSIS

Self deprecating – the lack of confidence that C displayed reminded me of myself and of Skinners theory of positive reinforcement and so we both would benefit from this. With this the chester letters do take into account skinners behaviourist theory as ifyou write a good letter then you can take home Chester. This child may not be receiving attention at home, or on the flip side they are so used to their parents doing things for them that they don’t want to work.

CONCLUSION

I need to observe more, write notes for those who may need extra help and let the teacher know. Spend more time trying to make them want to work on their letters – intrinsic motivation

ACTION PLAN

Make dots to write around for those with difficulties – use differentiation and assess different methods. Have a smaller group of children – then it can be more one to one and then also they can focus more on the task. Look into the background of the children to gain a better grounding for the child’s behaviour.

Leave a Reply

